Awardees At LGMF

Lakshminarayana International Awards Winners The Lakshminarayana International Award was instituted in the year 1997 by the Lakshminarayana Global Music Festival. It is awarded to individuals who have made momentous contributions to their respective artistic domains. Each awardee is a legend in his/her own right. The first award in 1997 was given to Lord Yehudi Menuhin and was presented to him by the President of India HE K. R. Narayanan.

Subsequently the award has been presented to eminent artists creative geniuses and living legends. The Lakshminarayana International Award has been conferred upon the following eminent personalities: Lord Yehudi Menuhin, Dr. Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer, Smt. M. S. Subbulakshmi, Pandit V G Jog, Jean-Luc Ponty, Pandit Jasraj, Ustad Bismillah Khan, Al Jarreau George, Duke Stanley Clarke, Arve Tellefsen, Ivry Gitlis, Pandit Birju Maharaj, Sri. B K S Iyengar, Dr. Gangubai Hangal, Dr. M. Balamuralikrishna, Smt. D K Pattammal, Pandit Bhimsen Joshi, Dr. R. K. Srikantan, Sri. Purna Das Baul, Pandit Ram Narayan, Hubert Laws Øystein Baadsvik, Roby Lakatos, Sri. Ilaiyaraaja, Vadim Repim Liepaja Symphony Orchestra, Sri. T K Murthy and Prof. T N Krishnan.

    The award carries with it a specially commissioned unique Tanjore painting of Ganesha playing the violin (as a tribute to Prof. V. Lakshminarayana).

    Lord Ganesha in the Hindu pantheon is the first God one prays to in order to remove obstacles. Tanjore painting is a specialized art form from the Tanjore region of Tamil Nadu India. This form of painting incorporates gold leaf work and semi-precious gems. Each painting is a specially commissioned work of art.